2017 ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards

UCL 'Darwin' Lecture theatre, with its technological equipments, high quality sound system and soft seats has a reputation, among students of University College London, as a nice and comfy place to listen and learn. Darwin is well aware of His capacity and abilities for being the best place in London to teach young academics and is rightfully proud of it. While the 'Darwin' treats all of his guests (that are the students) with kindness and respect, His real passion is for hosting the most unique event for the most talented PhD students in the UK.

On May 20th 2017, UCL Darwin Hall was the happiest hall among all lecture theatres in the UK for, once again, He was the centre for the most elevating, most inspiring, most pleasant, and most entertaining, and most celebrated event of the year 2017: the 6th Doctoral Researcher Awards 2017.

Most elevating it was. Out of nearly two hundred high quality applications, forty excellent candidates were chosen for the ceremony. The qualified young academics illustrated their research by posters (honourable mentions) or by giving a short presentation in front of prominent academics who came from various Higher Education Institutes in the UK.

Most inspiring it was. Two world renowned scientists Sir Professor Michael Pepper (University College London) and Professor Josef Kittler (Surrey University) delivered tremendously inspiring and informative talks which had the power of not only expanding our narrow view of the technical science but also broadening our fixed perspective as being future generation of academics.

Most pleasant it was. After being fascinated by the superb performances of the finalists' thrilling research achievements, the audience quenched their hunger for science (and for food) in the poster hall viewing, listening and talking with awardees (honourable mentions) while enjoying plenty of refreshments.

Most entertaining it was. The grand final of the ceremony was truly the most exciting and entertaining part of the day. While the rumours and gossips flow around the audience everyone had their own best candidate which was actually the right perspective to view this competition. As pointed out by Professor Joseph Kittler, the Olympic spirit is more important than who comes ahead by a small margin.

Most celebrated it is. Each year, bringing together, from all parts of the UK, hundreds of most talented young academics to a single location with the single purpose of uniting in the good effort to cultivate intellectual activity among the young academics, truly makes DRA a one of its kind event.

Finally, we would like to thank all of our guests of honour as well as our generous supporters, who donated for the 2017 ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards and congratulate all winners and wish them the best in their academic career.

Management & Social Sciences
1st Hannah Baker - University of Cambridge
The Demolition and Adaptation of Existing Buildings on Masterplan Sites
2nd Eliza Garnsey - University of Cambridge
The Art of Justice and The Justice of Art in 'Post-Apartheid' South Africa
3rd Ayten Bilgin - University of Warwick
Infant Regulatory Problems: Neurodevelopmental Vulnerability and Sensitive Parenting

Engineering Sciences
1st Adarsh Ganesan - University of Cambridge
Probing Nonlinear Resonances in Microelectromechanical Systems
2nd Jing Wang - Bournemouth University
Matrix Factorization with Application on Clustering
3rd Isha Gupta - University of Southampton
Extracellular Neural Signal Compression with Nanoscale Memristors

Natural & Life Sciences
1st Julius Bier Kirkegaard - University of Cambridge
Physics to Understand Biology
2nd Katarzyna Sokol - University of Cambridge
Photoelectrochemistry of Photosystem II Integrated into Tailor-Made 3-D Electrodes
3rd Kent Griffith - University of Cambridge
Synthesis and Structural Characterisation of Next-Generation Energy Storage Materials

Honourable Mentions
Management & Social Sciences
Shuangmiao Han* - University of Oxford
The Trying Game: Policy Experimentation and Higher Education Reforms in Contemporary China
Yuli Shan* - University of East Anglia
Development of China's Emission Accounts and Datasets
Adelie Chevee - SOAS, University of London
Andreas Ferrara - University of Warwick
Biye Gao - SOAS, University of London
Brian O'Shea - University of Warwick
Donatella Bonansinga - University of Birmingham
Julianne Viola - University of Oxford
Laura Diorella Islas Liminana - University of Bath
Longjie Lu - University of Leeds
Marina Charalampidi - University of Warwick
Mary Zhang - University of Cambridge
Tania Cheng-Davies - University of Bristol
Willa Zhen - SOAS, University of London

Engineering Sciences
Shuping Dang* - University of Oxford
Relay Technology for The Next Generation Communication Networks
Yuanwei Liu* - King's College London
Cooperative Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access with Simultaneous Wireless Information and Power Transfer
Ahmed Mohammed - University of Portsmouth
Anmar Dulaimi - Liverpool John Moores University
Chrysoula Voulgari - University of Warwick
Dongwei Du - University of Warwick
Guotai Wang - University College London
Mohammed Shbeh - University of Sheffield
Mohammed A. M. Abdullah - Newcastle University
Prabhuraj Balakrishnan - University of Manchester
Ricardo da Conceicao Ribeiro - Newcastle University
Rossana Castaldo - University of Warwick
Stephen Chan - University of Manchester
Tongyang Xu - University College London
Zhe Li - University College London
Zhijin Qin - Imperial College London

Natural & Life Sciences
Angelo Di Bernardo* - University of Cambridge
Superconducting Spintronics
Jolene Reid* - University of Cambridge
Computational Methods for Predicting Chiral Phosphoric Acid Catalyst Performance
Abdulrahman Baki - University of Nottingham
Anita Toscani - Imperial College London
Helena Stage - University of Manchester
Isabel Abanades Lazaro - University of Glasgow
Katarzyna Kostyrka-Allchorne - University of Essex
Lucy Hutchinson - University of Oxford
Marco Silipo - Newcastle University
Marta Fiacconi - Liverpool John Moores University
Naomi Moris - University of Cambridge
Patrick Flagmeier - University of Cambridge
Yavuz Kulaberoglu - University of Cambridge

* Who were the finalists.