DRA 2022
On Saturday 10th September 2022, ABTA proudly organised the 11th national Doctoral Research Awards (DRA) to award and celebrate the achievements of the young researchers.
Through DRA, ABTA aims to cultivate junior academic research in the UK and encourage young academics by acknowledging their contribution to the academic's world.
Finalists from the categories of Natural & Life Sciences, Management & Social Sciences and Engineering Sciences delivered their presentations and showed an outstanding performance in presenting their PhD research which drew an infinite number of questions from the audience.

During the poster session, the participants viewed the posters of their fellow researchers and had an opportunity to ask questions about the details of their study.

In the second part of the ceremony, we were honoured to have Professor Jack Szostak, 2009 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine as our keynote speaker. He delivered a talk on how he found his area of interest, his work throughout the years and how he won the Nobel prize.

In the last part of the program, the DRA awards were given out, including a social media award was given to one member of the audience for being an active Twitter follower of ABTA during the ceremony.

The ceremony ended with ABTA Director Dr Emre Esenturk's closing remarks and Dr Nastaran Ranjbar on the ABTA and Springer Nature partnership, allowing DRA awardees to publish a mini-review in the SNAS journal.

Finally, we would like to thank all of our guests of honour and our generous sponsors for their continued support of the Doctoral Researcher Awards, congratulate all winners and wish them the best in their academic careers.
2022 Awardees
Natural & Life Sciences

1st - Boon Lim
2nd - Feifei Zhang
3rd - Marta Seczynska

Poster Award Winner: Marta Camacho

Engineering Sciences

1st - Marlini Simoes
2nd - Hassan Saad Ifti
3rd - Taiyu Zhu

Poster Award Winner: Shaheoz Khan

Management & Social Sciences

1st - Alexander William Mesarovich
2nd - Emma Dore-Horgan
3rd - Zhiwei Wang

Poster Award Winner: Amy Granada
Social Media Award Winner: Dean Roberts

Honourable Mention & Recognition Awards

Natural and Life Sciences

Max Stammnitz (Finalist)
Davide Piras (Finalist)
Bang Zheng (Finalist)
Catarina Alves (Finalist)
Kyle Frohna
Roger Sanchez
Barbara Mahler
Yixuan He
Spyridon Koutsoukos
Frederik Philippi
Miguel Paez-Perez
Jack Davies
Jinzhao Sun
Matteo Giordano
Doruk Ergocmen
Matej Hejda
Joseph Egan
Aleksander Ulatowski
Dean Roberts
Jarla Thiesbrummel
Manuel Kober-Czerny
Simone Webb
Mahan Ghafari
Caitlin Stewart
Carolin Sauer
Ashwin Jainarayanan
Marta Camacho
Liisa Lutter
Daiana Drehmer
Caitlyn Norman

Engineering Sciences

Yuhang Song (Finalist)
Kenny Cardenas (Finalist)
Hao Xu
Lewis Blackburn
Tim Georg
Johann Rudner
Ge Wang
Shahroz Khan
Robert Oliver
Peter Christopher
Angus Siberry
Gatheeshgar Perampalam
Abderrahim Boualam
Kafayat Hazzan
Kai Yuan (Danny) Huang
ThankGod Boye
Bashir Jelani Usman
Yang Song
Hamideh Ramezani
Francesco Cursi

Management & Social Sciences

Amy Andrada
Kaspar Rosager Ludvig
2022 Committee Members & Reviewers
DRA is indebted to the individuals below for their academic support in diligently reviewing this year's applications.
Engineering Sciences

Mehrdad Vasheghani Farahani
Mohamed Mohamed
Oliver Burton
Mohammad Salehian
Carlos Cueto
Fiona L Walport
Ebubekir Avci
Emmanuel Momoh
Chukwuma Ogbonnaya
Adarsh Venkataraman Ganesan
Yu Wu
Damla Kilic
Fatih Gulec
Tochukwu Ozulumba
Deepan Kishore Kuma
Fabien Massabuau
Claudio Angione
Eman Omairey

Natural & Life Sciences

Holly Pacey
Pedro Vianez
Iago Grobas
Qiao He
Sascha Feldmann
Christopher Ashling
Omer Kacmaz
Jason Pottcary
Yavuz Kulaberoglu

Management & Social Sciences

Kira Gruenewald
Antonio Montañés
Jiménez Marfri-Jay
Gambal Boniface
Oyugi Mariana
Pinto Da Costa
Tommy Xiangming Tao
Henny Gunawan
Valentina Bartali
Theo Aiolfi
Hasan Metin
Bernardo Ferro
Tana Licsandru

All photo and video materials belong to their owners and are used for demonstration purposes only. Please do not use them in commercial projects.